What’s Next

So the Restless Spirits series won’t be happening. I don’t want to say it will never happen, because you never know what life will hold; but it’s not going to get written in the foreseeable future.

To those of you who backed my Kickstarter and did your part to enthusiastically spread the word, thank you from the bottom of my heart. I’m so sorry that those of you who wanted this book/series are such a tiny, tiny minority, and I know you’re probably as disappointed as I am. Let’s all raise a glass and pour one out for what could have been.

Moving on and looking ahead . . .

I’ve currently got two non-fiction books in the works. One, a comprehensive self-publishing guide, is about halfway written. The other, a spiritual memoir (I think), is still in the embryonic stage and figuring out exactly what it wants to be. For now, I’m going to focus on these two books, and get my fiction fix from writing short stories.

Once the self-publishing book is done, I’ll most likely pull Radium Town (my Weird Western set in my hometown of Claremore, OK at the dawn of statehood) out of mothballs and see about finishing that. A lot could change before I get to this point, but as of now I’m strongly considering trying to go the traditional publishing route with this one. But while that’s under submission, I’ll turn my focus to writing and producing the sequel to Dominion of the Damned.

All of this means that you’re probably not going to see any new self-published fiction from me for quite some time (the short stories I mentioned will also be submitted to more traditional markets; I’ll probably collect and publish the ones I can’t find homes for, but that will be quite a way down the road, too). I’ll be self-pubbing the self-pub guide (be kinda weird if I didn’t), but everything else on the list, until I get to Dominion 2, I plan to submit to publishers and/or agents before they see the light of day.

It’s not that I’m giving up on self-publishing, but my ultimate goal is to be a hybrid author, and that means I’ve got to give the other side a chance. And clearly, I’m at a point in my career where I need help, because I’m not doing such a bang-up job of finding my reader base on my own. Even a small indie press would be able to open doors for me that I’m just not capable of opening on my own.

At any rate, this list is going to keep me busy for at least the next two or three years, so I’d best hop to it. Onward and upward . . .

4 thoughts on “What’s Next

  1. I wanted to contribute to your kickstarter, but the past couple of months have been hard financially. Even my monthly personal ‘allowance’ went toward things I needed, rather than fun things, blah.

    I found out about a site/press called Inkshares recently, and it’s something you might look into. It’s publishing via crowdfunding, but customized specifically for writers. I’ve started an account, and have been poking around, but not near as much as I could be. It looks like there’s plenty of opportunity within the site to build readership, too.

    Like

    1. Believe me, I understand. Probably one reason I didn’t get more backers is because it shows in my KS profile that I’ve never backed any Kickstarters–only because it’s been a very long time since I’ve had my own fun money to spend however I want.

      There was another crowdfunding site for indie authors that recently announced it was shutting down because it couldn’t compete with KS, but I can’t remember the name of it. I’ll have to check that one out. I think I’m a little burned out on crowdfunding for the time being, though.

      Like

Leave a Reply

