Happy NaNoWriMowe’en!

NaNo-2015-Participant-BannerIt’s one more sleep till Halloween, one of my favorite days of the year–and only two more sleeps till one of my other favorite annual events: NaNoWriMo!

I’ll be participating this year, although not in the traditional sense, which I suppose makes me a “rebel.” I’ll be writing an as-yet undisclosed project which has already been started. I’d be writing it anyway, so I might as well join in the Nano festivities and take advantage of the community aspect while I can. I’m not so much going to worry about hitting 50 thousand words by the end of November; I plan to take Sundays (except for Day One) and Thanksgiving Day off, so that means I’ll actually only have 25 days to get there, and I’d have to write 2,000 words a day on average. Juggling that much output with my current steady freelance writing gig seems a little unrealistic.

My primary goal is to finish the first draft in two months, so if I can hit a word count somewhere between 35 and 40 thousand by the end of the month, I’ll consider it a win. That means at least  1,400 words per day, which is slightly more manageable.

Will you be doing NaNoWriMo this year? I go by jeanjeanie over there, so make me your buddy and say  hi!

In other news, I finalized and submitted my short story The Cellar last weekend, so now I’m just waiting to learn its fate. There might be more news to tell you about in the not-too-distant future, and it might be something pretty exciting, but that’s still in the “wait and see, need more info” stage at this point, which is kind of driving me batty. If it works out, though, it’s going to be quite an announcement, and well worth the wait.

2 thoughts on “Happy NaNoWriMowe’en!

  1. Not ‘officially’ NaNoing. (A poet does NOT want to try for 50,000 words. Nope nope nope. But maybe one day I’ll novel again.) I AM going to use the writing energy of those around me to try to make a concentrated effort on my own projects for the month though. I’ve not been able to focus at all lately, and beyond what I accomplished on the retreat in September, little has happened the last several months. Hopefully I can finish a few pieces this November.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It may not be NaPoWriMo (which actually probably ought to be a thing), but I see no reason why poets can’t join in and set their own goals. Here’s hoping this month helps to renew both our focus.

      Like

Leave a Reply

