So this happened, and now the RESTLESS SPIRITS series is going to happen.

So I can finally tell you what I’ve been working on this past six weeks or so: a little something entitled GHOST OF A CHANCE.

“…wait, what?” you might be asking. “Isn’t that the sequel to RESTLESS SPIRITS? Didn’t you say that after the Kickstarter campaign failed to reach funding that you weren’t going to be writing that?”

Yes, it is, and yes, I did say that.

“So why are you writing it now, Jean? And why were you being so dang secretive and coy about it?”

Well, my good reader, there is a good reason for that, on both counts. And that reason is this:

*ahem*

I’ve signed a multi-book publishing contract to do a RESTLESS SPIRITS series.

Let’s all just hold hands and jump up and down and go EEEEEEEEEEEE! for a bit (something I’ve been doing at regular intervals for the last two months ever since I got the offer).

All good? Okay, then. Now let me tell you a story. And fair warning to my secular-minded readers, this story has a lot of God-stuff in it, because it’s impossible to tell it accurately without it. If you don’t like it, just go back to EEEEE-ing some more.

This story actually begins some time last year, when I first decided to write a sequel. I began drafting it, and made a lot of progress on that draft, but it was going in a rather steamy romance novely direction that I wasn’t entirely comfortable with. So I set it aside, and thought a lot about whether I was telling the story I actually wanted to tell, and prayed a lot about the direction it should take.

Fast forward to this summer. I knew that doing a series based on RS was probably a sound business decision, but I still wasn’t sure about the book I had started. I was still praying and asking for direction as I tossed out that original draft and did a new outline. And with several other things to write on my TO DO list, I still wasn’t sure whether this series was the best thing for me to be focusing on.

So I got the idea to do a Kickstarter, to not just cover the production costs and buy me the time to write the book quickly, but also to gauge whether there was enough interest to justify it. And I told God that I was leaving the future of this series in His more-than-capable hands–that if the Kickstarter campaign didn’t have His blessing, I would accept that and move on.

Well, it didn’t. So I did, completely unaware of the fact that God had other plans. Better plans.

Fast forward to October. With the Kickstarter in the rear-view mirror, I had moved on to outlining and planning another go at RADIUM TOWN. I was getting myself all set to start drafting it during NaNoWriMo when I received an e-mail from one Dawn Carrington, the lead editor at Vinspire Publishing.

She had read RESTLESS SPIRITS, and she loved it. She loved it so much that she did some investigating and found that it was self-published and that I had recently scrapped plans to write and publish a series.

Would I still be interested in writing a series if her company published it?

So we had a phone call, and more e-mails, and then there was a contract, and some back-and-forth negotiations, and now I’m officially signed on with Vinspire Publishing to release new editions of both RESTLESS SPIRITS and RESTLESS SPIRITS: LOVE LETTER, and to write GHOST OF A CHANCE as well as a third, un-named sequel.

I don’t yet know the publishing schedule, beyond the fact that I’ve got until August of next year to get GHOST completed and turned in. Meanwhile, I’ve had to pull the indie editions of both RS and LOVE LETTER and eradicate all advertisements for themΒ from this site. I’ve got a lot of paperwork ahead of me, and I’ve got to make some minor revisions to the first two books and put them in a format that conforms to the publisher’s guidelines.

I’ll be doing another post discussing in detail why I decided to go the traditional publishing route with these books. For now I just want to say how grateful I am, both to God and to Dawn Carrington and Vinspire, for opening this door, and how excited I am to see where it will take me. And if you’d like to hear more about how my faith played a roll in bringing this about, I’ll be writing about that in more detail over at Daydream Believer.

EEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!

7 thoughts on “So this happened, and now the RESTLESS SPIRITS series is going to happen.

  1. Yay, congratulations! I really wanted to be able to contribute to your Kickstarter, but you know how budget things are, and I’m so glad that something has worked out in the meantime – hopefully something that will be BETTER for you in the long run!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! And believe me, I know. There has been many a Kickstarter campaign that I’ve wanted to support but wasn’t able to. But I believe it all worked out for the best.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It was?? That’s excellent! I feel like I should have known that. XD I knew Dominion of the Damned was (I remember talking to you about it at write-ins), but I don’t think I knew that Restless Spirits was as well. Huzzah! \o/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

