Monday Word Metrics

Except for a quick writing session yesterday that produced 506 words, I haven’t worked on the novel since last Wednesday. This is partly because I had freelance stuff to do and partly because we had Internet connectivity issues that added an extra layer of time and difficulty to getting that stuff done on time.

Today wasn’t good enough to make up for the lost writing days, but it was still a good day in its own right.

Today’s word metrics for on Ghost of a Chance, the Restless Spirits sequel with more ghost adventures, more mystery and more romance:

Today’s word count: 1,479
Total so far: 22,429
Words of fiction written this year: 5,302

I have a lot of freelance work on my plate this week, including three paid articles, a paperback interior to format, and a critique. Plus a doctor’s appointment and the usual errands. I may have to dial back these updates to weekly instead of daily, especially if my “day job” remains this level of busy. We’ll see.

In the meantime, here’s an unspoilery snippet of today’s output:

Ron folded her arms and glared at him. “What’s your problem?”
“I don’t got a problem,” he said, sounding resigned. “So now I s’pose you’ll both be going over there to spend the day gettin’ Jimmy fixed up.”
“No. Chris doesn’t want me to come.”
Finally he looked at her and showed some interest. “Why not?”
Ron shrugged. “She’s still mad at me.” And she thinks you are, too, she almost added, but it was becoming clear that Chris was right on that front, and Ron wasn’t ready to confront that just yet. “She’s acting like she doesn’t need me.”
Joe turned toward her and leaned against the wall. “Need I remind you again that your sister’s a grown woman? Would it be so terrible if she didn’t need you?”
“No,” she said, a bit petulantly, while her mind screamed, Yes!
“And would it be so awful for you to spend the day here with me? Or am I the one ghost you can’t fix, so you’ve given up here.”
“What are you talking about? Joe, you don’t need fixing.”
“But you sure need something to fix, don’t you?”
Ron looked at him like he’d sprouted a second personality.

Leave a Reply

