Monday Word Metrics and the #JustWrite Challenge

For the second week in a row last week, I managed to write every day (save the weekend). Even so, I didn’t write as much as I’d hoped, thanks in part to the fact that we finally crawled out of our introvert hole long enough to go see The Force Awakens. All I’ll say about that in this space is that I loved it and am itching to see it again.

Onward to word metrics!

Today’s word count: 905 (so far–I’m not done yet for today)
Novel so far: 34,001
Words of fiction this year: 16,873

I’m hoping to break 35K tonight, but if I don’t I’ll most certainly do it tomorrow.

Here’s a non-spoilery snippet of today’s output:

“That girl’s a looker,” Jim said after another long silence. “I hope you’re doing all your thinking up here.” He reached over and tapped Doug’s temple.
That also wasn’t entirely true, but Jim didn’t need to know that, either. “I know what I’m doing.”
“Let’s hope so.” They reached their exit, and Jim navigated to the street that the restaurant was on. “After all these years, I don’t know why you can’t just let it go.”
“You mean just let Jimmy’s killers get away with it?”
“I mean get on with your life, son. You’re still young. You’ve still got a lot to look forward to. But you’re too stuck in the past to live your life.” He pulled into the parking lot and parked next to Doug’s Mustang. “It’s time to lay your brother’s ghost to rest,” Jim told him.
Doug nodded, thanked him for his help, and got out. As he fished his keys out of the envelope, he thought, that’s exactly what I’m trying to do.

***

In other news, I just launched my attempt at a writing challenge. The #JustWrite Challenge is an informal challenge designed to get struggling writers over their initial hurdles and help them get their butts in the chair and start writing. If you’d like to participate, click here to read all about it.

In OTHER other news, this week I’ll be launching the first issue of my monthly author newsletter. If you’re not already on my mailing list and you want more of a glimpse into the writing life, or at least into this writer’s life, along with book recs, links of interest and other randomosity, click here to sign up (you’ll get a free book for doing so!).

Leave a Reply

